image

image

 
JOIN 800,000+ MEMBERS JOINJOIN Cancel
image

State Foster Parent Training Requirements

print
bookmark
comment
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
You may use the stars on the left to rate and leave feedback for the current article. No registration is required. Waiting for 5 votes 4.5 of 5 stars (2 votes) — Thanks for your vote

Please fill out the following optional information before submitting your rating:



Each state has different rules, regulations and procedures or guidelines to follow. Most states require that the foster parents be licensed by the state, others simply approve the home for placement of children.

Basic requirements usually include:

  • completion of an application for family home license
  • background check, criminal history check and finger printing of each adult member of the household
  • family stability
  • home inspection and personal interview
  • character references
  • minimum age of applicant: 21
  • prior to licensure/certification pre-service training
StatePre-service Training hoursIn-service Training hours (annual)
Alabama30 (40 therapeutic)15 (24 therapeutic)
Alaskavaries15
Arizona6 (30 therapeutic)6 (12 therapeutic)
Arkansas3015
Californiastate 12, counties vary (30-36) in additional hours8
Colorado2020 (40 therapeutic)
Connecticut2745 in first 18 months
Delaware
Florida308
Georgia3015
Hawaii270
Idahononenone
Illinois27 hrs PRIDE training (rec for adopting as well)
16 hrs across 4 yrs of license
Indianaspecial needs Ð 20, therapeutic care - 20
Iowa30 MAPP12 Therapeutic
Kansas3018
Kentucky30 MAPP6 (12 special needs, 24 treatment)
Louisiana3015
Maine24 (40 therapeutic)
Maryland 276
Massachusetts3010
Michigan618
Minnesota1212
Mississippifoster Ð 12, adoptive Ð 1812 every 2 years for renewal
Missourifoster - 27, plus 12 if adoptive15
Montana 308
Nebraska21 by Statute (min) 27 Pride12
Nevadaby law Ð 8, by policy Ð 364, Therapeutic care 10
New Hampshire218, Specialized care 16, Therapeutic care 24
New Jersey249 hours/24 months
New Mexico2010
New York126
North Carolina4010
North Dakota
Ohio24 (36 treatment)20 (30 treatment)
Oklahoma2412
Oregon2410
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island27
South Carolina145
South Dakota
Tennessee3015
Texas3020 (50 therapeutic)
Utah3212
Vermont21, 30 Pride10
Virginia4020
Washington308 - 16, depending on area
Washington D. C.3015
West Virginia
Wisconsin10 (treatment, 18)12 (treatment, 24 first year, 18 each subsequent year)
Wyoming2616

Credits: Source: National Foster Parent Association

Visitor Comments (0) - Be the first to comment
Adding your comments contributes to the adoption community. Please keep all comments on topic and civil. Visitors are invited to comment and vote for or flag comments based on appropriateness and helpfulness. All comments must adhere to our commenting rules and are subject to moderation.
Settings Help Feedback
Template Settings
Width: 1024     1280
Choose a Location:
Choose a Theme: